Didier Faustino on ‘bad’ architecture

Born on the outskirts of Paris to Portuguese parents, Didier Fiuza Faustino is an architect who has striven to break away from the boundaries and norms of his discipline. He remains on the fringe of societal prejudices, always in search of what he calls ‘in-between spaces’.

1996_My_First_House

Photo by Didier Faustino.

Do you have a favourite project?

Didier FaustinoMy favourite is always the one I’m working on at the moment. So that would be This Is Not a Love Song, a small stage-like object at Villa André Bloc, owned and operated by art collector Natalie Seroussi. It is an architectural action, a performance, reduced to its simplest and roughest form. It is fast and imperfect, susceptible of being a failure. This idea is very important for me, because architecture has to do with experiments. Each building is a prototype of itself.

Having said that, I ought to mention another of my favourites. My very first project was a two-floor wood and plastic playhouse for children in my village. It was the first time I felt that I could actually build something. It’s my ‘zero project’. When I design something today, I’m still searching for the spontaneity of that initial project, which was free of the obligation to achieve perfection. Everything needs to be perfect today. Everything is so hygienic and clean. Why? The name of my atelier refutes that notion. Mésarchitecture means bad, imperfect architecture. Even when everything is perfect and custom-designed down to the tiniest detail, the idea behind it can be imperfect.

You can read the full article here.

What do you think?

