Bookmark: Joseph Giovannini

‘Before I knew it, I became much better known as a writer than an architect. When you’re in a publication every week, the phone rings and you’re answering for articles, not buildings.’ Joseph Giovannini

 

When we talked about your LA Lofts in 2013 (MARK #43, page 60), you said that writing prompted you to build in order to test your theories, and that it was an attempt at full disclosure of what you really think about architecture. This notion makes it look as if your practice of architecture is secondary to your writing. Is that true?

Joseph Giovannini: These two careers have always complemented each other, but they’ve also been in competition with each other. It depends on when you ask… In a year I will think of myself more as an architect, because I’ll be right in the middle of a project. Right now I’m right in the middle of a book, so I think of myself more as a writer.

This is an excerpt of an interview published in MARK #65, the December/January 2016 issue. Read the full interview here.

What do you think?

